C2 Gearbox Oil.

Hello everyone,

As I am new to owning an Citroen car I have about a hundred questions to ask so please bear with me.  

I own a C2 1.4  2004 with the Automatic gearbox.  I would like to replace the gearbox oil,  I think I have found the drain plug but not to sure where the filler plug is located can some one point me in the right direction.

Many thanks  DK

• 2 weeks later...

Not sure if the C2 is the same as the C4 with an AL4 gear box but in a Haynes manual for the 2004 C4 it gives the following info. Access to the filler plug is helped by removing the air cleaner ducting and the battery and tray. The filler plug is on the top and directly behind the transmission selector lever and it has a sealing washer. It gives the AL4 torque setting as 24 Nm.

When it comes to checking the oil level, the AL4 has 2 parts to the drain/level plug - the first plug with an 8mm square drive is the level plug and then inside the housing is the second part of the plug (8mm allen key) which is the drain plug. It says to top up by ½ litre through the filler plug then refit that with a new seal, refit the battery etc then run the car/engine to warm the oil, park on level ground, put the gear box in P, with the engine running at idle slacken and remove the level plug and sealing washer, there should be a trickle of oil and then drips, refit the level plug and switch off the engine. It says then repeat adding ½ litre and doing the level check again and the level is then correct. When removing the level plug, if no oil runs out or just  a few drips then the level is too low. For the AL4 gear box, the drain plug is 33 Nm and the level plug (hexagonal) 24 Nm or (socket key) 9 Nm.

Hi paul.h

Just about to give up hope. So thank you for replying.